United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 27, 2022

The Honorable Patrick Leahy Chairman Senate Committee on Appropriations The Capitol, Room S-128 Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Richard Shelby Vice Chairman Senate Committee on Appropriations The Capitol, Room S-146A Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Leahy and Vice Chairman Shelby:

As Members of Congress representing counties with federal public lands within their boundaries, we write to request that you work to ensure the Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) program is fully funded in fiscal year (FY) 2023.

PILT provides critical resources to nearly 1,900 counties across 49 states to offset lost property tax revenue due to the presence of tax-exempt federal lands within their jurisdictions. It supports the many critical services that counties provide on federal public lands. Without full funding for the PILT program, counties across the nation will be unable to provide essential services such as law enforcement, education, search and rescue, road maintenance and public health to their residents and millions of visitors to our public lands.

Moving forward, we look forward to working with you to enact a fiscally responsible, long-term solution to fully fund PILT and eliminate the uncertainty that counties face each year. As cash strapped counties across the country work to address budget cuts exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic, full-funding and a long-term solution for PILT is essential to provide certainty that the federal government will continue to uphold its long-standing commitment to public lands counties.

We look forward to working with you and other Congressional leaders to resolve this pressing issue facing our communities by fully funding PILT in FY 2023 and ensuring long-term predictable funding for this important program.

Sincerely,

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Hir F. But

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Wike Cryoo



Klobel

ork R Wines

Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Mitt Romney United States Senator

Mark R. Warner United States Senator

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

Du Sull

John Hickenlooper United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Joe Manchin III United States Senator James M. Inhofe United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Steve Daines

United States Senator

Jacky Rosen United States Senator

Cynthia M. Lummis United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator Mhn Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein
United States Senator

Maggie Hassan United States Senator

Mark Kelly United States Senator Jeanne Shaheen United States Senator

eanne Shaheen

Buf Sanders

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan

Ben Ray Luján United States Senator

on Tester

United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator Martin Heinrich United States Senator

Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters

United States Senator