February 15, 2019

Manchin, Capito Among Senators Confirming Barr | WV MetroNews

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The U.S. Senate voted Thursday to confirm William Barr as the next attorney general.

The final vote was 54-45, with Sens. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va., and Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va., voting in favor.

Manchin was one of three Democrats who approved of Barr’s nomination; Alabama’s Doug Jones and Arizona’s Kyrsten Sinema also supported the nominee.

Kentucky’s Rand Paul was the only Republican to vote in opposition.

Barr previously served as attorney general under President George H.W. Bush. Matthew Whitaker has been serving as acting attorney general since November following Jeff Sessions’ forced resignation.


By:  Alex Thomas