March 20, 2018

Manchin and Capito Announce $310K in Economic Development in Counties Across West Virginia and Research at Marshall University

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) announced the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration will award $310,000 for the Region 7 Planning and Development Council, the Planning and Development Councils in the Eastern Panhandle and the Mid-Ohio Valley and the Marshall University Research Corporation.

“Public and private partnerships in West Virginia will give local communities the resources and expertise to expand businesses and create jobs and economic activity,” Senator Manchin said. “This funding will help regional business communities and Marshall University establish public and private partnerships to create a plan to diversify their economy, create jobs, and better their infrastructure. I’m glad they have received this funding and look forward to seeing their growth and development.”

“West Virginia’s regional councils and universities provide invaluable expertise to local communities on a range of issues, from infrastructure to economic development,” Senator Capito said. “Federal partnerships with these institutions are critical to bringing resources to our state and ensuring they are used efficiently and responsibly, and I will continue to work closely with them on efforts to improve the lives of West Virginians.”

The EDA planning investment supports the development and implementation of a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). The CEDS process is designed to bring together the public and private sectors in the creation of an economic development roadmap to diversify and strengthen the regional economy.

The funding for Marshall University Research Corporation and partners will provide technical assistance and research tools to help increase long-term regional competitiveness and economic diversification.

Individual Awards Listed Below:

  • $70,000 – Region 7 Planning and Development Council, which comprises the counties of Barbour, Braxton, Gilmer, Lewis, Randolph, Tucker, and Upshur.
  • $70,000 – Eastern Panhandle Regional Planning and Development Council, which comprises the counties of Jefferson, Berkeley, Morgan, and nine municipalities.
  • $70,000 – Mid-Ohio valley Regional Planning and Development Council, which comprises the counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Richie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt, and Wood.
  • $100,000 – Marshall University Research Corporation and partners.