September 02, 2016

Manchin and Capito Announce Funding to Support Drug-Free Efforts across West Virginia

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) announced that the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) has awarded funding to communities throughout West Virginia through the Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program. This funding will be used to enhance community efforts to combat the drug epidemic in the state by employing environmental strategies and broad initiatives that address each DFC-funded community’s specific needs.

The primary goal of the DFC program is to establish and strengthen community partnerships that support efforts at a local level to prevent substance abuse. Specifically, the grants issued through this program are intended to support community-specific strategies to address local substance use problems. By tailoring strategies to meet the needs of each community, DFC-funded communities have proven to deliver more positive and effective results.

“The impact substance abuse is having on communities across West Virginia is devastating and we must continue to take steps to end the epidemic,” Senator Manchin said. “We have a responsibility – particularly to our next generation – to curb this abuse, and I applaud those on the ground who are working tirelessly to end the epidemic. This funding will support efforts in Weirton, Wheeling and Huntington to create drug-free communities ensuring every citizen can live up to their full potential.”

“West Virginia has unfortunately been at the center of drug addiction epidemic that has spread throughout our nation’s communities,” said Senator Capito. “The DFC program is a reliable system that delivers results, which is why I worked diligently on the Senate Appropriations Committee to help secure this funding for our state. While this announcement will provide us with more resources to follow through with our plans to create a drug-free West Virginia, our efforts do not stop here. I remain committed to working on all levels to develop new solutions to tackle this epidemic that is crushing too many families.”

Individual awards are listed below:

  • $125,000 – West Side Ward 4 Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition (Kanawha County)
  • $125,000 – Putnam Wellness (Kanawha County)
  • $125,000 – Jackson County Anti-Drug Coalition (Jackson County)
  • $125,000 – Strong Through Our Plan (the S.T.O.P.) Coalition (Mingo County)
  • $125,000 – Morgan County Partnership, Inc. (Morgan County)
  • $125,000 – Kanawha Communities That Care (Kanawha County)
  • $125,000 – Ohio County Substance Abuse Prevention (Ohio County)
  • $125,000 – Advocates for Substance Abuse Prevention (ASAP) (Brooke County & Hancock County)