July 27, 2015

Manchin and Capito Announce More Than $1 Million for Fire Departments in Five West Virginia Counties

FEMA Grants awarded in Fayette, Randolph, Raleigh, Wayne and Tucker Counties

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) announced more than $1 million in funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for fire departments in five West Virginia counties. The Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Awards will help improve training, operations and fire safety in Fayette, Randolph, Raleigh, Wayne and Tucker Counties.

“Our fire fighters wake up each morning and voluntarily put their lives on line to keep the people of West Virginia safe, and my experience working with the volunteer rescue squad in Marion County has allowed me to appreciate their hard work and dedication,” Senator Manchin said. “These grants will provide our local volunteer fire departments with the resources and equipment they need to properly respond to emergencies and continue to protect West Virginians.”

“It is essential that our fire departments have the skills and training necessary to keep our local communities out of harm’s way. These grants will not only help our firefighters acquire the resources needed to respond in emergency situations, but they will also assist in ensuring the safety of those on the front lines,” said Senator Capito.

Individual awards are listed below:

•        $61,715 – Ansted Certified Fire Department, Inc., Fayette County

•        $22,429 – Whitmer Volunteer Fire Department, Randolph County

•        $118,400 – Coal City Volunteer Fire Department, Raleigh County

•        $259,139 – Ceredo Volunteer Fire Department, Inc., Wayne County

•        $619,048 – Parsons Volunteer Fire Department, Tucker County