September 26, 2016

Manchin and Capito Announce New Economic Development Grant Awards

33 West Virginia counties will benefit from $420,000 EDA investment

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) today announced that the Economic Development Administration (EDA) will provide six grants totaling $420,000 to several regional planning and development councils in West Virginia. This funding will be used to establish an economic development planning framework, process and strategy that supports private capital investment and job creation in those regions.

“The economic success in regions across West Virginia depends on collaboration between the public and private sectors. This funding will support more efficient collaboration and provide necessary support to boost economic development and get hard working West Virginians back to work,” Senator Manchin said.

“This investment will boost economic development and job growth for years to come in the Mountain State. Our regional planning and development councils are in the best position to identify what solutions will work in their communities. I will continue fighting to ensure that they have the right resources to create a stronger and more prosperous West Virginia,” said Senator Capito.

EDA funding supports the development and implementation of a comprehensive economic development strategy (CEDS). The CEDS process is designed to bring together the public and private sectors in the creation of an economic development roadmap to diversify and strengthen the regional economy.

Individual awards are listed below:

  • $70,000 to the Region III BCKP Regional Intergovernmental Council in South Charleston, which includes Boone, Clay, Kanawha and Putnam counties.
  • $70,000 to the Region II Planning and Development Council in Huntington, which includes Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo and Wayne counties.
  • $70,000 to the Region VI Planning and Development Council in Fairmont, which includes Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston and Taylor counties.
  • $70,000 to the Region 9 Eastern Panhandle Regional Planning and Development Council in Martinsburg, which includes Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan counties.
  • $70,000 to the Region I Planning and Development Council in Princeton, which includes McDowell, Mercer, Monroe, Raleigh, Summers and Wyoming counties.
  • $70,000 to the Region V Mid-Ohio Valley Regional and Development Council in Parkersburg, which includes Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt and Wood counties.