December 21, 2015

Manchin and Capito Congratulate Wheeling Jesuit on Volleyball National Championship

Washington, D.C. – A resolution introduced by U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) congratulating the Wheeling Jesuit University Women’s Volleyball team on their victory in the Division II National Championship passed late Friday.

The Senate resolution recognizes the Wheeling Jesuit Cardinals players and coaches on their victory over Palm Beach Atlantic University. To read the resolution in its entirety, click here.

“I am so proud of the Wheeling Jesuit volleyball team for winning the Division II National Championship,” Senator Manchin said. “Being a student athlete can be challenging, and these young women and coaches have proven you can have both academic and athletic success. The Cardinals have worked hard toward their first-ever National Championship, and I commend them on their dedication and sportsmanship. Congratulations!”

“I am beyond thrilled for the young women and coaches of the Wheeling Jesuit volleyball team for winning the Division II National Championship and making West Virginia proud,” said Senator Capito. “As the mother of a former college volleyball player, I have seen the hard work and dedication that is required of student athletes. Balancing education and athletics is no easy task, and these young women have shown that they can do just that and thrive at the top level. It is my pleasure to congratulate the Cardinals on their first-ever National Championship!”

Individual player accolades are listed below:

Andrea Thobe, Most Outstanding Player Award
Jessica Thobe, All-Tournament Team
Haley Kindall, All-Tournament Team
Kayce Krucki, All-Tournament Team

The 2015 Wheeling Jesuit Cardinals National Championship Team:

Andrea Thobe
Abby Moffit
Kayce Krucki
Haley Kindall
Alexa Brown
Sydney Obringer
Maddy Smyth
Jessica Thobe
Allegra Shippy
Julie Henderson
Samantha Obringer
Maddy Kassen
Emily Blank
Katie Campbell
Emma Schleucher
Lauren Graves

Head Coach Christy Benner
Assistant Coach Matt Benner
Graduate Assistant Coach Allissa Ware