October 24, 2018

Manchin Announces Members of Service Academy Selection Board

Charleston, WV - U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) today announced the members of his service academy selection board. Earlier this week, the four member panel interviewed prospective candidates who are vying for a nomination to the four military service academies:  the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, the U.S. Naval Academy, the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and the U.S. Air Force Academy.

"It is an honor to nominate hardworking and dedicated West Virginia students to the U.S. Service Academies each year and to highlight the many ways West Virginia students can enter the military while also getting a college education," Senator Manchin said. "Every member of the panel brings a unique perspective to the table and I look forward to reviewing the results of the interviews when I make my nominations. I commend all of the students who interviewed with the board, and who are willing to step forward to serve our country. Their sense of patriotism shows the true spirit of West Virginia and the strength of the next generation.

The interviews were conducted this week. Senator Manchin’s nominations will be announced in November.

Service Academy Selection Board

CSM (retired) Kevin Harry - former West Virginia National Guard State Enlisted Leader

Major Jason Lambert – Headquarters, Marine Corps, Legislative Liaiso

Rebecca Tucker – Professor of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math, West Virginia University Parkersburg

Zahava Urecki - Legislative Correspondent, U.S. Senator Joe Manchin