September 16, 2020

Manchin, Capito Announce $824K For School Safety Measures In Grant, Pocahontas, Upshur, And Marshall Counties

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), members of the Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced $824,774 from the Department of Justice (DOJ) Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office) for safety measures in Grant, Pocahontas, Upshur, and Marshall county schools.

“Our students deserve to be safe, especially while they’re in their classrooms and on the playground. And as our students face the challenges of attending school during the COVID-19 pandemic, we should work to provide as much safety as possible. This funding will help schools in Grant, Pocahontas, Upshur, and Marshall counties provide that safety through technology, law enforcement trainings, and equipment. As a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, I will keep advocating for funding that helps keep our students safe,” said Senator Manchin.

“It is great to see this funding from such a competitive program awarded to our law enforcement community and schools in West Virginia. Ensuring the safety of our kids and the peace of mind for our parents is critical. Increased training for law enforcement and staff, in addition to new equipment for schools like metal detectors, locks, and lights, are all major components in making our schools safer. I look forward to seeing this support implemented within Grant, Marshall, Upshur and Pocahontas counties,” said Senator Capito.

The funding can be used for coordination with law enforcement; training for local law enforcement officers to prevent student violence; metal detectors, locks, lighting, and other deterrent measures; technology for expedited notification of local law enforcement during an emergency; and other measures that provide a significant improvement in security.

Individual awards listed below:

  • $390,069 – Grant County Board of Education
  • $167,915 – Pocahontas County Board of Education
  • $146,230 – Upshur County Sheriff’s Department
  • $120,560 – Marshall County Sheriff’s Department