October 02, 2018

Manchin Congratulates Blue Ribbon West Virginia Schools

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) congratulates three West Virginia schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018. U. S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos named 349 public and private schools for their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups, demonstrating that all students can achieve to high levels.

“I am proud that three elementary schools in the Mountain State are getting well-deserved praise for their hard work to prepare our children for the future,” Senator Manchin said. “The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program represents the culmination of the hard work of our students, educators, families and communities. I am glad to see these efforts celebrated.”

Throughout its 36-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has affirmed the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content.  The award flag gracing a school’s building has been widely recognized by everyone – from parents to policymakers – as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning. 

Representatives from each awarded school will recognized at a ceremony on November 7th and 8th in Washington, DC.  Each school will be presented with an award plaque and a flag as symbols of their accomplishments. 

The recipient schools are listed below:

  • Allen T. Allison Elementary School in Chester
  • East Lynn Elementary School in East Lynn
  • Mt. Lookout Elementary School in Mt. Lookout