September 30, 2014

Manchin Congratulates West Virginia’s 2014 National Blue Ribbon Honor Schools

C. W. Shipley Elementary School in Harpers Ferry and Woodsdale Elementary School in Wheeling have been recognized nationally for high levels of achievement among students at all levels

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Joe Manchin congratulated C.W. Shipley Elementary School in Harpers Ferry and Woodsdale Elementary School in Wheeling for being recognized as West Virginia’s National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2014 based on overall academic excellence and progress in closing achievement gaps among students.

“The students, teachers and families at C.W. Shipley and Woodsdale Elementary Schools have demonstrated their commitment to making sure that all students are achieving academic excellence at the highest level, and therefore have earned this esteemed Blue Ribbon honor,” Senator Manchin said. “At every school across West Virginia, it is crucial that we create an educational environment where our kids are engaged, challenged and given the opportunity to be the best they can possibly be. These two schools have proven to exceed these expectations, and I am proud of their successful efforts to give our young students the necessary support so that they can truly excel and shine. I thank the communities at C.W. Shipley and Woodsdale Elementary for their leadership and dedication to excellence, and I congratulate then on receiving this award.”

At the invitation of U.S. Department of Education Secretary Arne Duncan, two representatives from each of the 337 schools selected nationwide are invited to Washington, D.C. for the Recognition Ceremony on November 10th and 11th.  At the ceremony, each school will receive a National Blue Ribbon Schools plaque and a flag.


The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students either achieve very high learning standards and/or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. Every year, the U. S. Department of Education selects and celebrates the chosen schools. More than 7,500 schools across the country have been presented with this award.