July 08, 2020

Manchin Introduces Resolution Supporting USPS, Presses For More Funding To Offset COVID-19 Losses

Charleston, WV – U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) led 43 Senators in introducing a resolution supporting the United States Postal Service (USPS) and advocating for more USPS funding in future COVID-19 relief packages.

“The U.S. Postal Service is a vital federal agency that ensures all Americans can utilize the mailing system that many of us take for granted. In rural states like West Virginia, the USPS services are even more important because they provide everyone access to their letters, packages, and more, no matter where they live in our state. I am proud to introduce this resolution in support of the Postal Service and will advocate for more funding to assist their essential work in the next COVID-19 funding package, along with other West Virginia priorities,” said Senator Manchin.

While the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act included a $10 billion emergency loan to the U.S. Postal Service from the U.S. Treasury Department, the Trump Administration has said it will not make the loan unless USPS closes post offices, raises rates, and scales back services.

In addition to Senator Manchin, the resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Gary Peters (D-MI), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Tom Carper (D-DE), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Doug Jones (D-AL), Chris Coons (D-DE), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tina Smith (D-MN), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jackie Rosen (D-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Tom Udall (D-NM), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Angus King (I-ME), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Ed Markey (D-MA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), and Brian Schatz (D-HI).

The resolution text can be found here