March 13, 2014

Manchin Receives Publius Award from the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress

Senators Manchin and Collins were recognized for their bipartisan leaderships efforts in Congress

Washington, D.C. – Last night, U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) was presented with the esteemed Publius Award from the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress (CSPC) for his bipartisan leadership in Congress. Senator Manchin received the award alongside Senator Susan Collins (R-ME). The Senators were awarded for their efforts to bridge the partisan divide in Washington, promote compromise and encourage consensus building and problem solving at a time of heightened partisan rancor.

The audience was filled with College students from across the country who are participating in fellowships at CSPC to research and discuss Congress, the presidency and government to learn what is takes to be a leader for the next generation.

“It was a privilege to receive the Publius Award alongside Senator Susan Collins and have an open and honest discussion with the men and women who will shape America’s next generation of leaders,” Senator Manchin said. “At a time when compromise seems to be a dirty word and dysfunction and partisanhip unfortunately remain prevalent in Washington, it is an honor to work with my colleagues from across the aisle like Senator Collins who truly want to solve our nation’s greatest challenges rather than cast partisan stones to win the next election cycle.”

To view CSPC’s YouTube video honoring Senators Manchin and Collins, please click here.

The Publius Award draws its name from the alias used by the authors of The Federalist Papers, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Even though these men all had very different political views, their statesmanship guided the United States from the broken politics of the Articles of Confederation to favor a new Constitution built around the principles of pragmatism, compromise, and shared power.

Recent former recipients of the Publius Award include: Senator Mark Warner, Senator Bob Corker, Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta, and Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke.

The Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress is a non-partisan policy organization established in 1965, which applies lessons of leadership and history to current domestic and international challenges and promotes cooperation between The White House, Congress, and the private sector.

Photo Captions:

Caption 1: Senator Manchin (right) poses with CSPC President Maxmillian Angerholzer (left) as he receives the Publius Award for his bipartisan leadership efforts in Congress.

March 12, 2014

Caption 2: Senators Joe Manchin and Susan Collins are presented with the Publius Award by former Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Togo West, and CSPC President, Maxmillian Angerholzer. From left to right: Togo West, Susan Collins, Joe Manchin, Maxmillian Angerholzer.