May 14, 2014

Manchin Recognized For His Avid Support of Small Businesses

As part of National Small Business Week, Senator Manchin is honored to receive the ‘Heroes of Main Street’ award for the second time

WASHINGTON, D.C. – As part of National Small Business Week, the National Retail Federation (NRF) today recognized Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) for his support of small businesses and the U.S. retail industry, the nation’s largest private sector employer. Senator Manchin, who has spent his life working as a small businessman, received the “Heroes of Main Street” award for the second consecutive year.

“From working in my grandfather’s grocery store and my father’s furniture shop to starting my own business after college, I have been closely involved in small businesses all my life. I understand the challenges they face and how much they contribute to making this country great,” Senator Manchin said. “Small businesses are the job engines of our state, and their impacts on economic prosperity and job creation around West Virginia and across our nation are immeasurable. I am incredibly honored to receive this award again, and I will continue to do all that I can to help our small businesses prosper, grow and expand.”

“NRF salutes our retail advocates in Congress for their dedication and proven commitment to public policies that support prosperity on Main Street,” NRF President and CEO Matthew Shay said. “Retailers are the heart and soul of our communities, and we are pleased to acknowledge lawmakers who have consistently supported a pro-economic growth policy agenda to ensure a thriving Main Street and a healthy and vibrant retail sector.”

The “Heroes of Main Street” award was created last year by the National Retail Federation to recognize members of Congress for supporting the retail industry's public policy priorities. Those awarded have publicly supported the policies and initiatives defined by NRF that recognize the contributions of the retail industry and have worked to encourage a healthy retail sector.

For a full list of congressional recipients, please click here.