August 24, 2012

Manchin, Rockefeller, Rahall Announce Grant for Emergency Food and Shelter Programs

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senators Jay Rockefeller and Joe Manchin, as well as Congressman Nick Rahall, today announced $541,057 in federal funding for social service agencies to help meet the needs of hungry and homeless people throughout West Virginia.

“In West Virginia, we understand the importance of coming together and helping those facing tough times,” said Rockefeller.  “This funding will help organizations across the state continue to serve their communities and meet the needs of their neighbors.  Their worthy and generous work helps to relieve people of hunger and lift West Virginians out of poverty.  We should all be grateful for their efforts and the people they stand up for.”

“The health and safety of all West Virginians have always been one of our state’s top priorities,” Senator Manchin said. “As we continue to fight through these tough economic times, I am proud that we can work together to make sure that our friends, families and neighbors have a roof over their heads, food to eat and the support that they need to help them get back on their feet and into the workforce.”

“Family emergencies can occur throughout the year and due to all manner of causes.  These federal funds will help put food on the table and lend a helping hand to get families back on track in those instances,”  said Rahall, who is the top Democrat on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee with jurisdiction over FEMA programs.  “The American people share and rightly take pride in a fundamental moral tenet to lend a helping hand to our neighbors and even to strangers who are trying to get back on their feet.” 

This federal funding is provided by the Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP), which is part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). EFSP funds are used to supplement food, shelter, rent, mortgage, and utility assistance programs for people with non-disaster related emergencies. 

Member agencies of the EFSP National Board include: American Red Cross; Catholic Charities USA; The Jewish Federations of North America; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the USA; The Salvation Army; United Way Worldwide; and FEMA.  Funded jurisdictions use Local Boards, similar in composition to the National Board, to advertise the availability of the funds; establish priorities among community needs; allocate funds to non-profit and government emergency food and shelter agencies; and, help monitor program compliance.  More information about the EFSP can be found here.

Below are the funding amounts available for each jurisdiction in West Virginia:

Cabell & Wayne Counties $43,648  
Mercer County $18,429
Barbour County $5,760  
Mineral County $10,392
Boone County $6,621  
Mingo County $7,542
Braxton County $5,453  
Monongalia County $25,683
Brooke County $11,332  
Morgan County $5,651
Calhoun County $3,128  
Nicholas County $9,214
Clay County $3,573  
Ohio County $15,390
Fayette County $14,658  
Pocahontas County $3,810
Grant County $5,404  
Raleigh County $22,190
Greenbrier County $11,966  
Randolph County $11,332
Hampshire County $7,037  
Ritchie County $3,533
Hancock County $16,123  
Roane County $6,206
Harrison County $20,428  
Summers County $4,097
Jackson County $10,976  
Taylor County $5,285
Kanawha County $59,849  
Tyler County $3,563
Lewis County $4,840  
Upshur County $7,938
Lincoln County $7,077  
Webster County $3,345
Logan County $10,768  
Wetzel County $7,096
McDowell County $7,502  
Wood County $31,147
Marion County $16,984  
Wyoming County $6,770
Marshall County $13,015
Mason County $11,738
State Set-Aside Committee $34,564
West Virginia Total $541,057