July 15, 2014

Manchin, Rockefeller, Rahall Announce Statewide Funding to Create Jobs and Support Economic Development

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Joe Manchin and Jay Rockefeller, along with Congressman Nick Rahall, today announced that the Economic Development Administration will provide a total of $490,000 to regional councils around the state to invest in economic development strategies that support job creation. The funding will bring together the public and private sectors to establish a plan to diversify and strengthen regional economies.

“In order to boost economic success in West Virginia, it is important to strengthen public-private partnerships, coordinate resources and make smart investments in our communities,” Senator Manchin said. “The strategies developed and implemented with these investments will create new opportunities all around our state —from the Northern Panhandle to the Greenbrier Valley— and they will bring good-paying jobs to hardworking West Virginians.”

“West Virginia’s regional planning and development councils are dedicated to designing and implementing plans to boost our local economies and create jobs. If we want to see their work have a lasting impact, we must provide resources and support for their efforts,” Rockefeller said. “This funding is a critical investment in the economic foundation and future of communities across our state.”

“Federal investments like these EDA grants help give our region some leverage to compete in a global marketplace,” said Rahall, top Democrat on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee which has jurisdiction over the EDA.  “Our Regional Councils help ensure a solid foundation for local and regional economic development to attract private-sector investments, expand existing businesses and attract new job opportunities, and keep future generations of West Virginians in their home state, building careers and raising their families.”

The following regional councils will each be awarded $70,000:

• Region II Planning and Development Council (Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mingo, and Wayne Counties)

• Region III-BCKP Regional Intergovernmental Council (Boone, Clay, Kanawha, and Putnam Counties)

• Region 4 Planning and Development Council (Fayette, Greenbrier, Nicholas, Pocahontas, and Webster Counties)

• Region VI Planning and Development Council (Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, and Taylor Counties)

• Bel-O-Mar Regional Council (Ohio, Marshall, and Wetzel Counties)

• Brooke-Hancock Regional Development Council (Brooke and Hancock Counties)