July 26, 2013

Manchin, Rockefeller, Rahall: Federal Disaster Declaration for State Triggers Release of Federal Funds

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Joe Manchin and Jay Rockefeller, along with Rep. Nick Rahall (all D-W.Va.), Friday applauded the major disaster declaration that has been issued for the State of West Virginia, which will provide Federal disaster assistance to help communities recover from severe storms and flooding that occurred on June 13, 2013. 

“I am pleased that the communities affected by June’s severe weather will be receiving this assistance,” said Manchin. “West Virginians always help one another in times of need—neighbors helping neighbors is just part of our way of life. But this additional help is necessary to repair our state’s destroyed infrastructure and to rebuild our communities. I appreciate the work of Governor Tomblin and the Administration’s quick approval to provide this disaster relief declaration.”

“The federal disaster assistance program was designed to help states facing big-ticket losses and funding made available to the State through this declaration is expected to aid in repairing the badly damaged Mason County Route 12 Bridge over Robinson Creek,” said Rahall, top Democrat on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, which has jurisdiction over FEMA. “As families and businesses recover and rebuild, I will continue to fight for all of the Federal disaster assistance our State is entitled to receive.”

“There’s nothing more important than making sure West Virginians have the resources they need to recover after severe weather hits our state,” said Rockefeller. “The federal disaster declaration our delegation pushed for will support Mason and Roane Counties in their efforts to rebuild after recent storms and flooding. These hardworking communities have faced adversity before and came back stronger than ever, and I know this time will be no different.”

Public Assistance will be made available for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster damaged public facilities in Mason and Roane Counties.  All counties in the State of West Virginia are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.  FEMA is still actively reviewing Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s request for Public Assistance for four additional counties as well as the Governor’s request for Individual Assistance for residents, which would provide grant money and services for individuals and households who incurred uninsured property damage and losses.