March 17, 2012

Manchin Statement on Federal Disaster Assistance for 11 West Virginia Counties

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) today made the following statement about the federal storm damage relief that is on its way to West Virginia for Doddridge, Harrison, Lincoln, Marion, Mingo, Monongalia, Preston, Ritchie, Roane, Taylor and Wayne counties. The federal funds will assist communities across the state that were affected by severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, mudslides and landslides between February 29 and March 5. 

In addition to touring the damage in several counties, Senator Manchin wrote to President Obama and spoke with Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano asking that the state’s request for assistance be granted.

"When I toured the areas that were destroyed in these storms and saw their truly devastating impact on our communities, I urged the federal government to offer the appropriate aid as quickly as possible. I thank Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano and her entire staff for their willingness to quickly make a decision that will help so many West Virginians put their lives back in order and rebuild."