July 23, 2012

Manchin Statement on Federal Disaster Declaration for West Virginia

Washington, D.C.—U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) made the following statement today after the President issued a federal disaster declaration for West Virginia in the wake of severe storms and straight-line winds that devastated the state from June 29 to July 1, 2012. 

On July 18, 2012, Senator Manchin wrote a letter to President Obama in support of Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s request for a major disaster declaration for the state. A copy of that letter is available here

“West Virginians are some of the most resilient people in the world, but the massive storms late last month took a tremendous toll on our state,” Senator Manchin said. “I’m pleased that the President quickly granted this disaster declaration, and I look forward to helping our communities as they work to rebuild our public infrastructure.”  

According to the Governor’s office, the declaration provides assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of public facilities damaged in the June 29 to July 1, 2012 storms.  The following 45 counties are eligible to receive the federal public assistance funding: Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Randolph, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Wayne, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt, Wood and Wyoming.

Hazard Mitigation grants will also be made available as a result of today’s declaration.  All counties are eligible to apply for this financial assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.