April 17, 2018

Manchin Thanks President for Declaring Major Disaster Declaration

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) today thanked President Trump for declaring a major disaster for the state of West Virginia as a result of the extreme flooding throughout the state between February 14 and February 20, 2018 which caused severe storms caused flooding, landslides, mudslides and wind damage in 21 counties throughout West Virginia.

Last month, Senator Manchin led the West Virginia delegation in a letter to President Trump encouraging him to declare a major disaster declaration. Read the full letter below or click here:

Dear Mr. President:

As members of West Virginia’s Congressional Delegation, we join together in support of Governor Jim Justice and his request for a federal disaster declaration for the State of West Virginia after continuous rain storms washed through our state causing widespread damage.  Severe storms caused flooding, landslides, mudslides and wind damage in 21 counties throughout West Virginia, beginning February 14th and ending February 20, 2018.

Frequent rainfall early in February caused ground saturation in many areas throughout our State, resulting in minor flooding events.  As heavy rains began to fall on February 14th, areas surrounding rivers, creeks and small streams were unable to absorb the excess precipitation causing flooding and landslides.  Fortunately, no injuries or loss of life were reported.  Local officials and first responders worked diligently to ensure that debris clean-up efforts were initiated immediately to clear blocked roadways and damaged infrastructure. 

To access federal disaster aid, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice has made a request for a declaration of major disaster for the State of West Virginia, submitted March 15, 2018, under the provisions of Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5208 (Stafford Act).  We respectfully request that you review this request for Public Assistance for Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Doddridge, Hancock, Harrison, Lincoln, Logan, Marshall, Mason, Monongalia, Ohio, Pleasants, Preston, Ritchie, Taylor, Tyler, Wayne, Wetzel, Wirt, and Wood counties; and hazard mitigation for the entire state.

We remain proud of our local citizens, first responders and our brave National Guard members, who have worked diligently to assist in recovery efforts, and we urge you do to do everything in your power to make sure that our communities have the federal support they need to rebuild and recover.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.