June 28, 2016

WV Delegation Urges President to Expand Disaster Declaration to Help With Flood Recovery

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), along with Representatives David McKinley, Alex Mooney and Evan Jenkins, sent a letter to President Obama to express their full support for Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s new request to expand the major disaster declaration to include Clay, Fayette, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster counties.

In the letter, the delegation thanked the Obama Administration and FEMA for their quick response, and urged the president to continue to support West Virginia in its efforts to rebuild and recover from last week’s flooding with federal disaster assistance, which has been instrumental in accessing much-needed recovery supplies. As flood cleanup efforts continue, additional communities have realized the full scope and scale of the damages they have incurred as a result of this disaster.

Please read the full letter below, or click here.

Dear Mr. President:

As members of the West Virginia Congressional Delegation, we write to offer our continued support of West Virginia Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s request for additional federal disaster assistance due to the severe storms beginning on June 23, 2016 that have caused significant damage to infrastructure, homes, personal property and businesses throughout West Virginia.

At the Governor’s request, last weekend, your administration acted swiftly to grant federal disaster aid for individuals in Greenbrier, Kanawha and Nicholas counties in West Virginia.  This aid has been instrumental in accessing much needed recovery supplies for the most ravished communities in our state.  While cleanup efforts continue, we expect additional requests for assistance as impacted communities realize the full scope and scale of the damages they have incurred as a result of this disaster. 

Earlier today, Governor Earl Ray Tomblin expanded his request for federal disaster aid to include seven additional counties in West Virginia. This request was submitted under the provisions of Section 401 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5208 (Stafford Act).  We respectfully request that you review this request for Individual Assistance for Clay, Fayette, Monroe, Pocahontas, Roane, Summers and Webster counties.  We also ask that FEMA begin immediate discussions with the appropriate state officials in regard to Governor Tomblin’s urgent request.

We commend the tireless efforts that local citizens and first responders continue to put forth to aid our great state in the aftermath of such severe flooding, and we again urge you to continue to support us in our efforts to rebuild and recover with federal disaster assistance.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.