November 24, 2015

Manchin Announces Service Academy Nominations

Recommends 40 students from 20 counties

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) announced today that he will nominate 40 West Virginia students from 20 counties to the U.S. service academies, which include the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point and the Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point.

“It is such an honor to recommend 40 of West Virginia’s brightest young men and women to the U.S. service academies,” Senator Manchin said. “All of our students worked hard to earn these nominations and are determined to serve our country. Many are also striving to carry on their families’ proud military heritage. Today, I join all West Virginians in congratulating these hardworking and committed students, because a nomination to one of our elite service academies will develop these young men and women to become our next generation of military leaders.”

The students are from the following counties: Berkeley, Brooke, Greenbrier, Harrison, Jefferson, Kanawha, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Mercer, Mineral, Monongalia, Nicholas, Ohio, Pocahontas, Putnam, Raleigh, Taylor, Wirt and Wood.

Senator Manchin is recommending the following students to the service academies. Final admission is determined by the respective academy.

Air Force Academy

Sara Burton, Hedgesville High School

Jack Funk, Bridgeport High School

Lace Shoemake, Frankfort High School

Isaac Turner, Wheeling Park High School

Sarah Leslie, Greenbrier East High School

Bryce Graley, Putnam County

Nick Elekes, Spring Mills High School

Ken Wu, John Marshall High School

Erin Leslie, Greenbrier East High School

David Park, Air Force Academy Prep (Ohio County)

Military Academy at West Point

Jeremy Hammes, Herbert Hoover High School

Jonathan Benson, Wheeling Park High School

Sophie Parker, Wiesbaden High School (Monongalia County)

Seth Kerby, Wirt County High School

Chase DeMoss, Shady Spring High School

Tyler Owens, Pocahontas County High School

Jacob Morgan, Military Academy Prep (Taylor County)

Erik Willis, Keyser High School

Charles Willis, Carlisle Barracks, (Kanawha County)

Brandon Ralston, East Fairmont High School

Naval Academy

Mary Catherine Bolton, Parkersburg High School

Jacob Laing, Wheeling Park High School

Brette Geary, Brooke County High School

Mike Reed, Linsly School

Drew Johnson, Berkeley County

Rhiannon Turner, Musselman High School

Adrien Inman, Spring Mills High School             

Juliana O’Reilly, Martinsburg High School

James Dishner, Pikeview High School

Joseph Minor, Central Catholic High School

Merchant Marine Academy

Drew Polczynski, Jefferson High School

Nick Johnson, Parkersburg High School

Jake Cooper, Washington High School            

Noah Kessler, Teays Valley Christian

Hunter White, Point Pleasant High School

Colin Harvath, East Fairmont High School

Tyler Evans, Shady Spring High School

Braden Welsh, Bishop Catholic High School (Marshall County)

Samantha Dent, Parkersburg High School

Bridgett Carson, Nicholas County