November 30, 2021

Manchin, Capito Announce Funding For Storm Damage Recovery Efforts In Four WV Counties

Washington, DC – U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV), a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Ranking Member of the Senate Homeland Security Appropriations Subcommittee, today announced a total of $1,236,867 from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) for Cabell, Kanawha, Mingo, and Wayne counties to assist with recovery efforts as a result of severe winter storms and flooding in February and March of this year.

“West Virginia has continued to face severe weather in recent years, including heavy winter storms at the beginning of the year. Our communities in Cabell, Kanawha, Mingo and Wayne were hit hard, and these funds are critical to the recovery efforts across the region. As the Bipartisan Infrastructure Bill funding is distributed, I will continue advocating for rural states like West Virginia to receive their fair share of funding to prepare for severe weather events so our communities can be protected,” Senator Manchin said.

“Our state was hit hard by severe storms and subsequent flooding earlier this year,” Ranking Member Capito said. “People were stranded at home, roads were damaged, and power outages spread throughout the area. This funding is critical for ongoing repair and recovery efforts in Cabell, Kanawha, Mingo, and Wayne counties, and I’m glad to help bring these needed resources to West Virginia.”

Within DHS, the Disaster Case Management (DCM) Program provides supplemental funding to states, U.S. territories, and federally recognized tribes after a presidential disaster declaration that includes Individual Assistance. The DCM Program is intended to provide funding for staff who develop a partnership between a disaster case manager and a disaster survivor to develop and carry out a Disaster Recovery Plan. This partnership provides the survivor with a single point of contact to facilitate access to a broad range of resources. The funding source for this grant is the Disaster Relief Fund – Major Disasters.