November 17, 2021

Manchin Leads Bipartisan Senators In Introducing Resolution To Designate November As National Adoption Month

Washington, DC – Today, U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) led 31 bipartisan Senators in introducing a resolution designating November 2021 as National Adoption Month and November 20th, 2021 as National Adoption Day. The resolution recognizes and honors adopted children and families with adopted children, as well as encourages and promotes adoption in the United States. As of last year, over 424,000 children nationally were in foster care, including more than 7,000 in West Virginia.
“Every child in West Virginia and across the country deserves a safe, loving home to grow up in. Adoption gives children the opportunity to grow up in a devoted home with family who cares for them every day. I am thrilled to lead my bipartisan colleagues in introducing this resolution to designate November as National Adoption Month to honor adopted children and their families, as well as raise awareness for adoption opportunities in the United States,” said Senator Manchin. “I encourage West Virginians interested in growing their families to visit the West Virginia Bureau for Children and Families website to learn more about adopting or becoming a foster parent to one of the thousands of wonderful children currently living in foster care in West Virginia.”
Senator Manchin was joined by U.S. Senators Roy Blunt (R-MO), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Rob Portman (R-OH), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), James Risch (R-ID), Tina Smith (D-MN), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Angus King (I-ME), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Michael Bennet (D-CO), John Thune (R-SD), Bob Casey (D-PA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Diane Feinstein (D-CA), Tim Scott (R-SC), John Boozman (R-AR) and Chris Coons (D-DE).
Bill text can be read here.