March 08, 2022

U.S. Senate Unanimously Passes Manchin, Capito Resolution To Condemn Bomb Threats Against HBCUs

Washington, DC  The United States Senate unanimously passed U.S. Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Shelley Moore Capito’s (R-WV) bipartisan resolution condemning the recent bomb threats against Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) across the country. Senators Manchin and Capito led their colleagues in passing the resolution to reaffirm the federal government’s commitment to combatting violence against students, faculty and staff. West Virginia is home to two HBCUs, West Virginia State University and Bluefield State College.

“The recent pattern of bomb threats against HBCUs is horrific and unacceptable. We must ensure our fellow Americans are supported and protected during these difficult times,” said Senator Manchin. “Students, faculty and staff at HBCUs, including West Virginia State University and Bluefield State College, deserve to feel safe attending school and going to work every day in a safe, secure environment. I’m pleased the Senate is taking a bipartisan, unanimous stand against these threats of violence, and I will continue to fight to protect our HBCU students, faculty and staff across the Mountain State.”

“Violence and hatred have no place in our country, especially on our college campuses,” Senator Capito said. “Students who attend HBCUs like West Virginia State University and Bluefield State College have the right to feel safe when going to school or working on campus. As a former guidance counselor at WVSU, it’s especially important to me that we strongly condemn these acts of violence and support our HBCU students, faculty, and staff.”

Senators Manchin and Capito were joined by Senators Tim Scott (R-SC), Chris Coons (D-DE), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Cory Booker (D-NJ), John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Richard Burr (R-NC), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Bob Casey (D-PA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Tom Carper (D-DE), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ed Markey (D-MA), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH).

The full resolution text can be found here.